What’s a Lash Lift?

Have you ever wanted to wake up and already have perfectly curled lashes? I know that I would love to be able to skip the eyelash curler and mascara step of my makeup routine in the morning. Sometimes the only makeup I put on is mascara, and if I didn’t have to do that step at all I would love it!

While scrolling through the explore page on Instagram, I came across a video of a woman getting her eyelashes lifted. This is essentially a perm for your eyelashes, so I immediately wanted to learn more. I quickly searched through different accounts and hashtags to find more videos and pictures featuring a lash lift.

Once I watched as many Instagram videos I could on the process, I went to Google and began to search for more details about a lash lift. I came across an article from Cosmopolitan that shared one person’s experience getting the treatment done. I will link the article here, so you can read more about her personal experience.

A lash lift is a treatment that keeps your lashes curled for eight to 12 weeks at a time. It is also sometimes referred to as a keratin lash lift. The company that created this technique is called Yumi. The process was created in 2008 in Switzerland by Sandra Viglino, a well-known teacher in the field of permanent makeup.

Brooke Shunatona, from Cosmopolitan, said her treatment cost $150 and took an hour and a half. However, on the Yumi website it states that the treatment takes only 45 minutes and the cost of the treatment is not listed. There may be a difference in the time because the treatment done on Brooke Shunatona also included eyelash tinting. The Yumi website does not mention eyelash tinting as part of the process.

The process does not include any parabens or other harsh chemicals, so it should not irritate your eyes. Also, since this process has been around for almost 10 years, the trial period of it is over. My friend, who is pre-med, said that since it has been around for so long, she personally believes it is safer than a brand new product.

If you are considering getting a lash lift for yourself, I recommend searching through the lash lift and Yumi Lashes hashtags on Instagram or the website itself, to see the results. There are currently Yumi trained technicians all around the world, including the USA. Go here to find out more about the US locations. Maybe one day when I have enough money, I will get a lash lift myself. For now, I’m just going to stick to my mascara and eyelash curler.

 

Stay awesome,

Cristina

 

Featured Photo From http://www.yumilashesusa.com/our-work/

 

Leave a Reply

