How to Clean Makeup Brushes

Hello again! I’m sure many of us are probably really guilty of not cleaning our makeup brushes as often as you should. I know that I am 100% guilty of doing this. Some of you may think that it is a difficult process or that you need to buy some expensive brush cleaner. I’m here to tell you that is not true.

When I first starting using makeup brushes I didn’t really realize that I needed to clean them regularly. I kinda just thought that I would need to clean them when they were visibly dirty. After some time and research, I realized that it is very important to clean your makeup brushes regularly because they can quickly grow bacteria, which is not good for your skin.

There are so many different methods to clean your brushes that it can be a little overwhelming. I have found the best way for me is to use either a bar of soap or baby shampoo. These are honestly some of the cheapest options that actually get the job done. You can use any bar soap or any shampoo however, they only thing I would be careful about is how it will affect your skin. If you have sensitive skin I recommend using products that you know will not irritate your skin or cause breakouts. I use Johnson’s Baby Shampoo because it is strong enough to actually clean my brushes, but not harsh for my skin at all. I used to use bar soap that my mom accidentally gave me when she dropped off some stuff at my house one day. It was very cheap and might have been from the dollar store. I did not have a problem with it at all, the only reason I switched was because I ran out of soap.

When I actually begin to clean my brushes I put a drop of soap on the bristles then, I lather it by making circular motions with the brush on the palm of my hand. When I had a bar of soap, I would just rub the brush on bar and then run it under the water. Make sure you are getting all of the makeup off of the brush. This make take a while depending on the brushes and the type of makeup you use. I know that my foundation brush takes the longest to clean because I use liquid foundation, which tends to really get into the bristles. I don’t know if anyone remembers having to clean brushes in the sink at the end of art class, but this is exactly the same thing. The only difference is that these products are made to be used on your skin.

After my brushes are completely clean, I first dry them with a paper towel. Then, I lay them out to air dry. I always make sure they are separated and have the room to dry properly because if not, then they could grow mold or bacteria.

I know some people might have questions about how to wash your Beauty Blender or makeup sponge. Just wash it the same as you would your other brushes. You must ensure that you are squeezing out all of the excess water from the sponge before letting it air dry. Now that you all know how to clean your brushes, I’m gonna go and clean mine.

Stay awesome,

Cristina

Leave a Reply

